Dirty Habits

Biting nails is disgusting...amirite???
I've been doing it pretty much my entire life. I don't actually know why, but now I just do it when I am bored. The worst times are when I am at the movie theatre. 
So a few weeks before Christmas, I decided I was fed up with my nails looking so bad all the time. I decided to quit biting them. 
Of course, like anything else, it is something you always struggle with, especially if you do it out of boredom or nervousness, but these are all the ways that I was able to stop biting my nails.

1) I once read in "Chicken Soup for the Teenage Soul" a story of a girl who wanted to change her outward appearance. She enlisted her mom as help and they created these incentives for the girl so she would stop biting her nails. Some were getting a manicure, buying new makeup, etc. This was what I used the first week I was trying to quit. It was super hard, but I am VERY addicted to Chick-Fil-A. I told myself that if I went one week without biting my nails, I would get to eat out at Chick-Fil-A. That week was hard, but I stuck to my agreement. The entire week I ate at home for every meal. When the end of the week rolled around, I happily ate my chicken sandwich. 

2) Have someone hold you accountable. Accountability is one of the biggest ways you can keep to your word. Chris helped me and would smack my hand out of my mouth every time. It's important to have someone help you through the process.

3) Be patient. Growing nails takes a lot of time. They are incredibly fragile and will probably break more than once. That's okay. Once the third week is over, it gets so much easier. 

4) Keep them looking good. Nothing is more annoying than having nails that aren't looking the best they can. Keep them filed. Keep strengthening polish on them as well as a coat of something. I kept my favorite color on them and would touch it up if it started looking rough. You'll get lots of compliments and it will make you think twice about ruining all the work you put into painting them.

5) Keep a rubber band around your wrist and pop yourself when you start trying to bite your nail.

6) Chew gum or have something in your mouth to keep you busy.

7) DO NOT PUT ACRYLIC NAILS ON UNLESS IT IS THE LAST OPTION! Acrylic nails will absolutely ruin your nails. They make them extremely weak and look terrible. It is best to let them grow out and leave polish on them.

That's all the advice I have for now, but I may update it later on if I think of anything else. 

See you next week!
xoxo
Leave a Reply

