Long Distance

I have been in a long distance relationship for about two years now. When my boyfriend first told me he was going four hours away for school, I was heartbroken. After all, tv and movies tell us that long distance never works. A lot of people give up on long distance while the adjustment period is happening. They don’t ever get the benefits of long distance.

  1. In long distance relationships, especially during college, you have time to focus on your studies. When your significant other is in the same city, you are always distracted and always trying to see them. In long distance relationships, you get to text and have phone calls, but have the opportunity to concentrate on school, friends, and extra curricular activities.
  2. You get to go on a relaxing vacation every time you see your significant other. When I get to see my boyfriend, I have the best time. I don’t have to worry about school because I do all my work during the week (making it easy for me not to do any classwork over the weekend). Then, we get to explore the city and see each other.
  3. Every experience to see them again is heartwarming. You can’t really explain it, but no matter how much time has passed, it’s always worth it to have that time away. Each time you see him or her, all the negative aspects of long distance go away.

Long distance is not always bad. Plus, if the relationship is meant to last, you will get to see your significant other every day for the rest of your life. Temporary pain is worth the eternal happiness.

 

Leave a Reply

